The Practical Catholic’s Library Vol. 1

I love books, they are tools to knowledge and wisdom, and friendship. Here at the Practical Catholic I am hoping to branch out of my niche a little bit, and books is the way to go.

The most enjoyable thing about books is the way they can shape and reshape our worldview. They’re a consolation and a forum for ideas. The following list is 4 books I am working through and one I’d like to read.

1: Most Recent Start:
Most Recently, I have picked up Covenant and Communion, by Scott Hahn on the Biblical basis of Pope Benedict XVI. It’s. Great read and I highly recommend it. It provides a well thought out and highly readable introduction to biblical Catholicism.

2: Still Want to Finish:
The Brothers Karamazov by Dostoyevsky. This book and its moving prose have been echoing around the nogging for weeks, and I’m dying to get my hands on a copy so that I can re-read the Grand Inquisitor chapter. I have very fond mempries of spiritual formation and meditation with this book.

3: Trying to Get Into:
I am really trying to get into finishing blogging through the Theology of the Body. I haven’t touched the project in a bit, and I miss it. Things have been busy, but that’s no excuse. I can’t wait to get back into the writings of Bl. John Paul II so that I can continue my moral and spiritual formation in every realm of life.

4: Lament Not Having.
I very much lament not having Systematic Theology Vol. 1-2 by Robert W. Jenson. I find myself wanting Jenson’s great and prolific writing and wishing I could browse his masterful work. What’s most interesting about Jenson to me is his defense of Orthodoxy and Tradition, especially his defense of the existence of a papacy. I really wish I had this book around to read and browse for the continual challenge and hope it presents.

5: On my Radar
10 Books Every Conservative Must Read, 4 Not to Miss and One Impostor.

I remembered seeing this book a few months ago and it caught my attention. It was the author recommendations that I remember being particularly insightful. This review caught my attention, and inspired me to put it back on the radar. Notably, Wiker discounts Ayn Rand in the book and I am very curious as to why.

In any case, that’s the library. I want to do some more of these, and maybe discuss these books with you in the future.

Be well my friends.

Tags: ,

About Eli

Brazilian.Catholic.Lover.Photographer.Adventurer.Theologian.

Leave a Reply

